Advisory Board

The NYU Center for the Humanities Advisory Board consists of a group of faculty and administrators chosen from among NYU’s many schools that offer a humanities curriculum. Members are appointed by the Provost and serve for a three-year term. The Advisory Board meets several times a semester to discuss yearly programming and to select the winners of the Team-Teaching Stipends and Working Research Groups competitions.

Thomas Augst

Associate Professor, English, Faculty of Arts & Science
tom.augst@nyu.edu

Ulrich Baer

Advisory Board Chair and Faculty Director, Center for the Humanities
Professor, Departments of German and Comparative Literature, Faculty of Arts & Science
Vice Provost for Faculty and Undergraduate Academic Affairs, NYU
ulrich.baer@nyu.edu

Eric Banks

Director, New York Institute for the Humanities
eric.banks@nyu.edu

Georgina Dopico

Dean of the Humanities, Faculty of Arts & Science
Professor, Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures, Faculty of Arts & Science
georgina.dopico@nyu.edu

Aisha Khan

Associate Professor, Anthropology, Faculty of Arts & Science
Associated Faculty, Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Faculty of Arts & Science
aisha.khan@nyu.edu

Gwynneth Malin

Director, Center for the Humanities
Adjunct Instructor, Department of History
gwynneth.malin@nyu.edu

Judith Miller

Professor, Department of French, Faculty of Arts & Science
judith.miller@nyu.edu

Jennifer Morgan

Professor, Department of Social and Cultural Analysis, Faculty of Arts & Science
jennifer.morgan@nyu.edu

Susan Murray

Associate Professor, Department of Media, Culture, and Communications, Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development
susan.murray@nyu.edu

Crystal Parikh

Associate Professor, Department of English, Faculty of Arts & Science
crystal.parikh@nyu.edu

Shelley Rice

Professor, Department of Photography and Imaging, Tisch School of the Arts
shelley.rice@nyu.edu

Laura Slatkin

Professor, Gallatin School of Individualized Study
laura.slatkin@nyu.edu

Michael Stoller

Associate Curator and Academic Associate Dean, Division of Libraries
michael.stoller@nyu.edu

Thelma Thomas

Associate Professor, Institute of Fine Arts
tkt2004@nyu.edu

Jane Tylus
Founding Faculty Director, Center for the Humanities
Professor, Departments of Italian Studies and Comparative Literature, Faculty of Arts & Science
jt76@nyu.edu

Jerome Wakefield

University Professor
Professor of Social Work, Silver School of Social Work
Professor, Conceptual Foundations of Psychiatry, School of Medicine
jerome.wakefield@nyu.edu

The NYU Center for the Humanities is generously supported by funding from the Office of the Provost at NYU and an endowment from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.