Advisory Board

The NYU Center for the Humanities Advisory Board consists of a group of faculty and administrators chosen from among NYU’s many schools that offer a humanities curriculum. Members are appointed by the Provost and serve for a three-year term. The Advisory Board meets several times a semester to discuss yearly programming and to select the winners of the Team-Teaching Stipends and Working Research Groups competitions.

Thomas Augst

Associate Professor, Department of English, FAS

Ulrich Baer

Faculty Co-Director, Center for the Humanities
Vice Provost for Faculty, Arts, Humanities & Diversity; Professor of German and Comparative Literature, FAS

Eric Banks

Director, New York Institute for the Humanities

Joy Connolly

Dean for the Humanities
Professor of Classics, FAS

J M DeLeon

Ph.D. Candidate, Performance Studies, Tisch
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Performance Studies, Tisch; and Department of Social and Cultural Analysis, FAS

Aisha Khan

Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology;
Associated Faculty, Center for Latin American and
Caribbean Studies, FAS

Perri Klass

Professor and Academic Director
Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute;
Professor of Pediatrics, NYU School of Medicine

Eric Klinenberg

Director, Institute for Public Knowledge;
Professor, Department of Sociology, FAS

Christopher Leslie

Lecturer; Co-Director, Science and Technology Studies Program
Polytechnic School of Engineering

Gwynneth Malin

Director, Center for the Humanities
Adjunct Instructor, History Department

Susan Murray

Associate Professor
Department of Media, Culture & Communication
Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development

Crystal Parikh

Associate Professor
English Department, FAS

Shelley Rice

Professor of Photography and Imaging
Tisch School of the Arts

Laura Slatkin

Gallatin School of Individualized Study

Michael Stoller

Director of Collections and Research Services
Division of Libraries

Thelma Thomas

Associate Professor, Institute of Fine Arts

Jane Tylus
Chair, Advisory Board
Faculty Co-Director, Center for the Humanities
Professor of Italian and Comparative Literature, FAS

Jerry Wakefield

University Professor; Professor of Social Work
Silver School of Social Work
Professor of the Conceptual Foundations of Psychiatry, NYU School of Medicine

The NYU Center for the Humanities is generously supported by funding from the Office of the Provost at NYU and an endowment from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.