Advisory Board

The NYU Center for the Humanities Advisory Board consists of a group of faculty and administrators chosen from among NYU’s many schools that offer a humanities curriculum. Members are appointed by the Provost and serve for a three-year term. The Advisory Board meets several times a semester to discuss yearly programming and to select the winners of the Team-Teaching Stipends and Working Research Groups competitions.

Thomas Augst

Associate Professor, English, FAS
tom.augst@nyu.edu

Ulrich Baer

Advisory Board Chair and Faculty Director, Center for the Humanities
Professor, Germany and Comparative Literature, FAS
Vice Provost, Faculty, Arts, Humanities & Diversity
ulrich.baer@nyu.edu

Eric Banks

Director, New York Institute for the Humanities
eric.banks@nyu.edu

Georgina Dopico

Dean, Humanities, FAS
Professor, Spanish and Portuguese Language and Literature, FAS
georgina.dopico@nyu.edu

Aisha Khan

Associate Professor, Anthropology
Associated Faculty, Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, FAS
aisha.khan@nyu.edu

Perri Klass

Professor and Academic Director, Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute
Professor, Pediatrics, School of Medicine
perri.klass@nyu.edu

Christopher Leslie

Lecturer and Co-Director, Science and Technology Studies Program, Tandon
chris.leslie@nyu.edu

Gwynneth Malin

Director, Center for the Humanities
Adjunct Instructor, History
gwynneth.malin@nyu.edu

Judith Miller

Professor, French, FAS
judith.miller@nyu.edu

Susan Murray

Associate Professor, Media, Culture & Communication, Steinhardt
susan.murray@nyu.edu

Crystal Parikh

Associate Professor, English, FAS
crystal.parikh@nyu.edu

Shelley Rice

Professor, Photography and Imaging, Tisch
shelley.rice@nyu.edu

Laura Slatkin

Professor, Gallatin
laura.slatkin@nyu.edu

Michael Stoller

Associate Curator and Academic Associate Dean, Division of Libraries
michael.stoller@nyu.edu

Thelma Thomas

Associate Professor, Institute of Fine Arts
tkt2004@nyu.edu

Jane Tylus
Founding Faculty Director, Center for the Humanities
Professor, Italian and Comparative Literature, FAS
jt76@nyu.edu

Jerome Wakefield

Professor, Social Work, Silver
Professor, Conceptual Foundations of Psychiatry, School of Medicine
jerome.wakefield@nyu.edu

The NYU Center for the Humanities is generously supported by funding from the Office of the Provost at NYU and an endowment from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.