Advisory Board

The NYU Center for the Humanities Advisory Board consists of a group of faculty and administrators chosen from among NYU’s many schools that offer a humanities curriculum. Members are appointed by the Provost and serve for a three-year term. The Advisory Board meets several times a semester to discuss yearly programming and to select the winners of the Team-Teaching Stipends and Working Research Groups competitions.

Thomas Augst

Associate Professor, Department of English, FAS
tom.augst@nyu.edu

Ulrich Baer

Faculty Co-Director, Center for the Humanities
Vice Provost for Faculty, Arts, Humanities & Diversity; Professor of German and Comparative Literature, FAS
ulrich.baer@nyu.edu

Eric Banks

Director, New York Institute for the Humanities
eric.banks@nyu.edu

Joy Connolly

Dean for the Humanities
Professor of Classics, FAS
joyc@nyu.edu

J M DeLeon

Ph.D. Candidate, Performance Studies, Tisch
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Performance Studies, Tisch; and Department of Social and Cultural Analysis, FAS
jmdeleon@nyu.edu

Aisha Khan

Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology;
Associated Faculty, Center for Latin American and
Caribbean Studies, FAS
aisha.khan@nyu.edu

Perri Klass

Professor and Academic Director
Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute;
Professor of Pediatrics, NYU School of Medicine
perri.klass@nyu.edu

Eric Klinenberg

Director, Institute for Public Knowledge;
Professor, Department of Sociology, FAS
eric.klinenberg@nyu.edu

Christopher Leslie

Lecturer; Co-Director, Science and Technology Studies Program
Polytechnic School of Engineering
chris.leslie@nyu.edu

Gwynneth Malin

Director, Center for the Humanities
Adjunct Instructor, History Department
gwynneth.malin@nyu.edu

Susan Murray

Associate Professor
Department of Media, Culture & Communication
Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development susan.murray@nyu.edu

Crystal Parikh

Associate Professor
English Department, FAS
crystal.parikh@nyu.edu

Shelley Rice

Professor of Photography and Imaging
Tisch School of the Arts
shelley.rice@nyu.edu

Laura Slatkin

Professor
Gallatin School of Individualized Study
laura.slatkin@nyu.edu

Michael Stoller

Director of Collections and Research Services
Division of Libraries
michael.stoller@nyu.edu

Thelma Thomas

Associate Professor, Institute of Fine Arts
tkt2004@nyu.edu

Jane Tylus
Chair, Advisory Board
Faculty Co-Director, Center for the Humanities
Professor of Italian and Comparative Literature, FAS
jt76@nyu.edu

Jerry Wakefield

University Professor; Professor of Social Work
Silver School of Social Work
Professor of the Conceptual Foundations of Psychiatry, NYU School of Medicine
jerome.wakefield@nyu.edu

The NYU Center for the Humanities is generously supported by funding from the Office of the Provost at NYU and an endowment from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.